Chat Prompts

Use Chat Prompts to proactively convert new visitors into leads whilst they are browsing your site. For example, want to know why a user is hesitating on your signup page – use a Chat Prompt to ask them!

We've taken great care to ensure they respect and engage your visitors, rather than annoy them. We want the conversation to start on a positive note, so they won't take over the page, they won't spam you repeatedly, and you can ignore them if you like – read more about Chat Prompt behaviour.

How are Chat Prompts different to Automated Messages?

Chat Prompts are only sent to brand new anonymous visitors on your site in an attempt to capture them as a lead. Once they are a lead in People CRM, you can continue to target them using Automated Messages.


Adding a Chat Prompt

Chat Prompts are setup on a per project basis, so make sure you've selected the correct project first – then just head to Automation > Prompts in the sidebar.

When adding a new Prompt, you'll be presented with a list of options that break down into 3 categories:

  1. Who should see the Prompt?
  2. When should they see it?
  3. What should the Prompt say and/or do?

Turning a Prompt on
When you're happy with the settings, hit the Save and Publish button to turn the Prompt on. This will start showing the Prompt to new visitors.

Turning a Prompt off
You can turn off a prompt at any time by switching the toggle off. This will stop showing the Prompt to your visitors.

Deleting a Prompt
Just click on the Prompt you want to delete and hit the 'Delete' button. Deleting a prompt cannot be un-done.

Testing your Prompts
The easiest way to check if a Prompt is working is to open your site in a Chrome Incognito window (or Safari Private browsing mode, or an Edge InPrivate). If you still can't see your Prompt, check that you haven't blocked your IP address (to stop your own site visits polluting your Analytics) in Settings > Current Project > Blocked.


Who the Prompt should be shown to

A visitor must match all of the rules that you setup in the 'Who' section. Prompts can be shown to visitors who...

  • View a specific page – you can add multiple pages by adding each one on a new line
  • Have been referred from another site – you can list multiple referrers by adding each one on a new line
  • Are in (or not in) a specific country
  • Have viewed X number of pages (this session)
  • Have been online for X amount of time (this session)


When the Prompt should show

A Prompt can trigger when any of these conditions are met...

  • Time on page – when they have been viewing the current page for X amount of time
  • Exit intent – when the visitor looks like they're about to leave the page
  • Scroll depth – how far down the page has the visitor scrolled
  • Only during your open office hours – when an agent is available to reply


What the Prompt should say and do

This is where you give the Prompt purpose. Are you trying to start more conversations or encourage your visitors to take action on something? You can customise the following options:

  • Sender – who the Prompt is from. Either a team member or your 'Company'.
  • Style – how the Prompt is presented. Either as a 'Invitation to chat' or a 'Call to Action'.
  • Message – what should the Prompt say. You can include text, emoji, links, and buttons (if you choose the Call to Action style).


Invitation to Chat Style – encourage a response
The Prompt is displayed with a reply box underneath it.
You can also choose how much of the message should be shown, either a short Teaser version, or the Full message version. By default the 'Teaser' option is selected. This will truncate long messages so that the visitor has to click on the Prompt to open the Assistant to read the full message.

Call to Action Style – adding a button
This allows you to add a button with a link to the message. It also hides the reply box so a visitor's attention is directed to the action button. These prompts default to Full message display option so that your action button is always visible.

Set your name and photo from Settings > Your Account > Personal

Set the company name and avatar from Settings > Current Project > Assistant


Chat Prompt Behaviour

Chat Prompts will only be shown to new visitors that have never previously sent you a message.

A visitor will only see a maximum of one Prompt per page. This means that if you have more than one prompt configured to show on the same page, only the first matching Prompt will be shown.

If you have two competing prompts that would trigger to show at the same time, the Prompt that is highest up the list of Prompts in the 'Automation > Prompts' screen will trigger first.

If a visitor dismisses a specific Prompt, they will never be shown that specific Prompt again.

If a visitor replies to a Prompt, they will not be shown any future Prompts because you have already opened a direct line of communication with them.

Note: Chat Prompts will not show up if the visitor is using an ad blocker on their browser or if you've blocked their IP address – this can catch you out when testing a new prompt because you may have blocked your own IP address.


Advanced URL matching

When choosing who to show a Prompt to, you can use basic URL pattern matching to specify which pages to show them on.

Wildcards

Quickly set up a Prompt to show on lots of pages.

 

Prompts on a subdomain

Showing a prompt on just a specific subdomain.

Did you find this article helpful?